Antioxidants and Depression

Antioxidants and Depression

Looking for healthy holiday meals? Subscribe to our free newsletter and receive a holiday recipe guide with four recipes: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/ DESCRIPTION: Neither antioxidant or folic acid supplements seem to help with mood, but the consumption of antioxidant-rich fruits and vegetables and folate-rich beans and greens may lower the risk for depression. You may have noticed I’ve started doing more mental health videos. Please let me know if that’s something of continued interest. The last few I did were: • Aspartame and the Brain (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/aspartame-and-the-brain/) • Exercise vs. Drugs for Depression (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/exercise-vs-drugs-for-depression) • Do Antidepressant Drugs Really Work? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-antidepressant-drugs-really-work/) What’s the difference between folate and folic acid? I have a really old video on the subject (Can Folic Acid Be Harmful? http://nutritionfacts.org/video/can-folic-acid-be-harmful/). I’ll add it to my list of topics to revisit. Here’s some older mood ones as well, with more to come: • Fighting the Blues with Greens? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/fighting-the-blues-with-greens-mao-inhibitors-in-plants/) • Gut Feelings: Probiotics and Mental Health (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/gut-feelings-probiotics-and-mental-health/) • Saffron vs. Prozac (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/saffron-vs-prozac/) Anything else we can do to enhance our sexual health and attractiveness? See: • Eating Better to Look Better (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/eating-better-to-look-better/) • Cholesterol and Female Sexual Dysfunction (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/cholesterol-and-female-sexual-dysfunction/) • Survival of the Firmest: Erectile Dysfunction and Death (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/survival-of-the-firmest-erectile-dysfunction-and-death/) • 50 Shades of Greens (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/50-shades-of-greens/) Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidants-and-depression and he’ll try to answer it! Image Credit: David via Flickr. https://NutritionFacts.org • Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe • Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate • Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio • Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org • Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts • Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org • Books: https://nutritionfacts.org/books • Shop: https://drgreger.org

Leave a Reply