How to Reach the Antioxidant RDA

How to Reach the Antioxidant RDA

Looking for healthy holiday meals? Subscribe to our free newsletter and receive a holiday recipe guide with four recipes: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/ DESCRIPTION: Even nine servings of fruits and vegetables a day may not reach the minimum recommended intake of antioxidants if one doesn’t make the right choices. This is that laser study I talked about: Antioxidant Level Dynamics (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidant-level-dynamics/). What do I mean by daily minimum of antioxidants? You must have missed my last video, Minimum Recommended Daily Allowance of Antioxidants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/minimum-recommended-daily-allowance-of-antioxidants). I used a similar technique to illustrate the potent antioxidant power of spices. See Antioxidants in a Pinch (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidants-in-a-pinch/). All fruits and veggies aren’t the same. I make this point in different ways in videos like Which Fruit Fights Cancer Better? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-fruit-fights-cancer-better/) and Anti-Inflammatory Antioxidants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/anti-inflammatory-antioxidants/). I have a series of videos on which foods have the most antioxidants. See Antioxidant Content of 3,139 Foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidant-content-of-3139-foods/) and Antioxidant Power of Plant Foods Versus Animal Foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidant-power-of-plant-foods-versus-animal-foods/). Note these are measured based on test tube tests. There are more sophisticated ways to measure antioxidant activity. See Anti Up on the Veggies (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/anti-up-on-the-veggies/). What’s the cheapest common source of whole food antioxidants? See Superfood Bargains (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/superfood-bargains-2/) for a dollar per dollar comparison. What’s the cheapest uncommon source? See Dragon’s Blood (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dragons-blood/). Are there diminishing returns to getting too many antioxidants? See Maxing Out on Antioxidants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/maxing-out-on-antioxidants/). So if we have that bowl of berries in the morning to meet our minimum daily antioxidant needs can we just call it a day?. Hint: the title of my next video is: Antioxidant Rich Foods With Every Meal (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidant-rich-foods-with-every-meal). Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-reach-the-antioxidant-rda/ and he’ll try to answer it! Image Credit: Anthro_aya, Fritzmb, and Cogdogblog via flickr; and Brian Arthur, Sanjay Acharya, and Henna via Wikimedia. https://NutritionFacts.org • Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe • Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate • Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio • Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org • Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts • Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org • Books: https://nutritionfacts.org/books • Shop: https://drgreger.org

Leave a Reply