Minimum Recommended Daily Allowance of Antioxidants

Minimum Recommended Daily Allowance of Antioxidants

Looking for healthy holiday meals? Subscribe to our free newsletter and receive a holiday recipe guide with four recipes: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/ DESCRIPTION: How many antioxidant-rich foods do we need to eat every day just to stay out of oxidative debt? If those citrus phytonutrients sounded familiar to you, it’s because I mentioned them before in videos like Keeping Your Hands Warm With Citrus (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/keeping-your-hands-warm-with-citrus/) and Reducing Muscle Fatigue With Citrus (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/reducing-muscle-fatigue-with-citrus/). It’s still better to eat the whole fruit though (See Best Fruit Juice, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/best-fruit-juice/ and Apple Juice May Be Worse Than Sugar Water, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/apple-juice-may-be-worse-than-sugar-water/). Digestion isn’t the only physiological source of free radicals—exercise is too. See Preventing Exercise-Induced Oxidative Stress With Watercress (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-exercise-induced-oxidative-stress-with-watercress/). Background on the role free radicals play in aging and disease can be found in my video Mitochondrial Theory of Aging (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/mitochondrial-theory-of-aging/). Antioxidant rich diets can even change gene expression: Plant-Based Diets and Cellular Stress Defenses (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/plant-based-diets-and-cellular-stress-defenses/). Is there a refined sweetener that doesn’t cause free radical formation? Yes: Erythritol May Be a Sweet Antioxidant (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/erythritol-may-be-a-sweet-antioxidant/). What’s the best way of reaching our daily minimum of 8-11,000 antioxidant units a day? So glad you asked! Covered in my next video, How to Reach the Antioxidant RDA (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-reach-the-antioxidant-rda). Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/minimum-recommended-daily-allowance-of-antioxidants/ and he’ll try to answer it! Image Credit: TheFoodJunk via flickr; and OCAL, Joshua8420, and Philip Hilgaertner via clker.com. https://NutritionFacts.org • Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe • Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate • Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio • Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org • Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts • Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org • Books: https://nutritionfacts.org/books • Shop: https://drgreger.org

Leave a Reply