Which Spices Fight Inflammation?

Which Spices Fight Inflammation?

An elegant experiment is described in which the blood of those eating different types of spices such as cloves, ginger, rosemary, and turmeric is tested for anti-inflammatory capacity. Looking for healthy holiday meals? Subscribe to our free newsletter and receive a holiday recipe guide with four recipes: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/ Here are links to those other juicy videos I opened up with: • Which Fruit Fights Cancer Better? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-fruit-fights-cancer-better) • Best Cooking Method (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/best-cooking-method) • Antioxidant Content of 3,139 Foods (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidant-content-of-3139-foods) See Antioxidants in a Pinch (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/antioxidants-in-a-pinch/) and How to Reach the Antioxidant RDA (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-reach-the-antioxidant-rda) to see the extent to which even small amounts of spices can affect one’s antioxidant intake. Another elegant series of “ex vivo” experiments exploring the cancer fighting power of lifestyle changes can be seen in videos starting with Ex Vivo Cancer Proliferation Bioassay (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/developing-an-ex-vivo-cancer-proliferation-bioassay/). Mushrooms (Boosting Immunity While Reducing Inflammation, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/boosting-immunity-while-reducing-inflammation/), nuts (Fighting Inflammation in a Nut Shell, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/fighting-inflammation-in-a-nut-shell/), and purple potatoes (Anti-Inflammatory Effects of Purple Potatoes, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/anti-inflammatory-effects-of-purple-potatoes/) may also reduce inflammation (along with plant foods in general, see Anti-Inflammatory Antioxidants, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/anti-inflammatory-antioxidants/ and Aspirin Levels in Plant Foods, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/aspirin-levels-in-plant-foods/). In fact so well that plant-based diets can be used to treat inflammatory conditions. See, for example, Dietary Treatment of Crohn’s Disease (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/achieving-remission-of-crohns-disease/), Diet & Rheumatoid Arthritis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/diet-rheumatoid-arthritis/), and Potassium and Autoimmune Disease (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/potassium-and-autoimmune-disease/). Animal products on the other hand may increase inflammation through a variety of mechanisms, including endotoxins (How Does Meat Cause Inflammation?, http://nutritionfacts.org/2012/09/20/why-meat-causes-inflammation/), arachidonic acid (Chicken, Eggs, and Inflammation, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/chicken-eggs-and-inflammation/), and Neu5Gc (The Inflammatory Meat Molecule Neu5Gc, http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-inflammatory-meat-molecule-neu5gc/). If oxidized cholesterol is a new concept for you, please check out its role in heart disease progression in my video Arterial Acne (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/arterial-acne/). I’ll cover the DNA findings in my next video, Spicing Up DNA Protection (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/spicing-up-dna-protection). And if turmeric compounds are so anti-inflammatory, can they be used to successfully treat inflammatory diseases. Find out in my next next video Turmeric Curcumin and Rheumatoid Arthritis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/turmeric-curcumin-and-rheumatoid-arthritis). Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-spices-fight-inflammation/ and he’ll try to answer it! Image Credit: SteamDave, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory – PNNL, Paolovalde, and Riy via flickr, and Saxluvr via clker.com. https://NutritionFacts.org • Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe • Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate • Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio • Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org • Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts • Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org • Books: https://nutritionfacts.org/books • Shop: https://drgreger.org

Leave a Reply