The female reproductive system consists of a pair of ovaries located in the abdominal cavity which produce the eggs or ova. Leading from the ovaries are two long tubes called the oviducts. The mouth of the oviduct is funnel shaped and is called the fallopian tube. The oviducts are not connected to the ovaries but open a short distance away from them. The two oviducts lead to the womb or the uterus. The walls of the uterus are made up of thick, elastic muscles (myometrium) and it is here the foetus develops during pregnancy. The inner lining of the uterus called the endometrium is richly supplied with blood vessels and nourishes the developing embryo. The base of the uterus is narrow and is called the cervix or neck of the womb. The cervix leads to the birth canal or vagina that opens to the outside by a small opening called the vulva. The female reproductive system in addition to producing the egg receives male gametes. The female gametes called ova, are produced one at a time by the two ovaries. The ovum travels along the oviduct or fallopian tube towards the uterus. Fertilization of the ovum occurs in the oviduct and then it is implanted in the uterus where it develops into the foetus.